ITFSA Vice President, ITFSA Technical Director, ITFSA National Coach, Sabum-nim Mischa Pereira 

Meet Sabum-nim Mischa Pereira, 4th Dan, Certified International Instructor, ITFSA Vice President, ITFSA Technical Director and ITFSA National Coach, currently based in Gauteng, Johannesburg, South Africa.  ‘I really am quite lucky and honoured to have my position in our organization as I get to do what I am most passionate about and that is learn, train and teach. That is my biggest motivation.’ Says Sbm Mischa.‘I think the growth of our organization in a short space of time says it all! The success of ITFSA has got to do with all of us. From a beginner student who wants to learn Taekwon-Do, to our very own ITFSA President Sbm Jaren Phillips, who is still doing and learning about Taekwon-Do.’ says Sabum-nim Mischa. ‘The common denominator is our art and our passion to learning and growing it, ‘ says Sbm Mischa, ‘It is not about other factors like ego, power and even finance, that can often plague any organisation. Our organisation is made of members with the common goal of “Taekwon-Do first” and I love that! Taekwon-Do will still exist without an organization, but an organization won’t exist without Taekwon-Do. That to me, is very special.’Sabum-nim Mischa had the privilege to meet the founder of Taekwon-Do, General Choi Hong Hi. 

Sbm Mischa’s advice to students is first try and understand the method and purpose of every attack and defense. Angles, distance and positioning of both yourself and your target. 

Secondly, to be mindful of what you are doing while training. Whether it be fundamentals, patterns or sparring. To involve the mind and the body in everything one does and to be conscious of any other factors surrounding you. 

Lastly, to focus on training individual properties of Taekwon-Do. Not always working for 100% of the perfect movement but to break things down and focus on specifics, such as speed, balance, precision, relaxation etc. By improving on the “ingredients”, the result will be a better end product. ‘Taekwon-Do, I suppose is my life. I’m not sure I could separate the two. I’ve been doing Taekwon-Do since I was 11 years old, so more than 2/3’s my life. It’s difficult to see it as an isolated sphere of life. I think it has just become a part of me. Sure I get tired, especially with so many competitions and gradings, but I just keep myself balanced, rested and I make sure I eat well. However, it also is a motivating factor, to see improvements and passion in students. To train and learn. To create exercises to push a paticular point in Taekwon-Do. I find that keeps me energized and motivated!’ 

Sabum-nim Mischa Pereira 

For more information please visit the ITFSA website! 

#tkd #tkditf #itfsa #mischapereira #taekwondo

